The Design Diary: Design Development

I put all the sample images onto an A3 page and got them printed. I also printed out an A4 page with two images of my favourite sample, which I will work with later.

IMG_9188

Printing all the sample images together makes it easier to pick out the best, and to add notes and sketches. I then put them into plastic sleeves to keep them safe, so I can look back on them later if I need any inspiration.

IMG_9196

Now that everything is printed, I sat down and added notes to the images and done a few sketches. These included ideas I could add to the samples, or even how they could be a full garment.

This is definitely a very handy and quick way to start the flow of design ideas. Before designing anything I like to do this, as well as working on Photoshop, which I will show you now!

Design Development

photoshop1

This may take a minute to explain!

In Photoshop I like to crop out all the samples from the mannequin, I then add them to a picture of a model. Here I begin to use the warp tool to create actual garments, or what could be part of the garment. This way I can see the sample on a person and how the sample may look in a larger scale.

I also like to create new samples using this technique, which I then recreate with fabric, if I think they will work. I can save money on fabric by testing out the idea in Photoshop first.

I hope that made sense 😂, here are a few I created!

Now it is time to start sketching down some design ideas!

IMG_9208

When sketching designs, I like to get at least four ideas onto one A3 page. I also use the same model for each design, I like to keep my sketching clean and simple so it is easy and clear to understand!

Adding notes is also important to me, so I myself understand the idea I have just sketched!

Samples

IMG_9187

I have started my design development, but I now need to go back and further my samples. Sampling and design sketching is a circle of work, I sample, then sketch, and sample and sketch!

This image is of the list I made in part 2, I have decided just to sample a few of the pleat ideas and work on the rest later. I wanted to test out the double pleat using different weights of fabric, to see which holds the pleat better!

The first is a heavy canvas material, which holds the pleat really well, but you can definitely see it is weighted! The black sample is made from grosgrain, this is a lighter fabric but is still quite stiff. It doesn’t hold the pleats as well but it definitely has more volume!

As you can see I put these samples on the larger mannequin, but I also put them on the smaller one like the previous samples.

It is great to have this comparison, the samples look completely different on each mannequin, but they give me extra ideas to work with for my design sketches.

img_9331.jpg

Another sample I made was the contrasting colour idea, this I created using a neon yellow fabric and regular calico. Although this is only a sample, I really like the colours together!

Working with this sample on the mannequin, was actually my favourite out of all! For such a simple sample, it has given me so many good ideas, and it will drive a lot of design work for my garments!

Printing

I want to include some print work in my collection, which I haven’t done before! I started researching some DIY style printing, mainly because I love to experiment with fabrics to see what I can create on my own!

One that stood out the most to me was lino printing, when I was in secondary school I loved doing lino prints in Art class! I thought this would definitely represent me and it would also be very interesting to see what I could do with it!

SilkPrinters

I also researched companies that specialize in fabric printing. If my lino idea doesn’t pan out, I could always create my own design and send it to be printed by a company. It may be costly, but the end product would be worth it!

Embroidery

Lastly I researched some embroidery techniques, as I am keen to include it in my collection along with some beading work.

Now that I have researched these techniques, it is time to put both embroidery and printing to the test. But first I need to create a pattern for which to work on!

I hope you enjoyed part 3 of this series, if you have any ideas, or questions leave me a comment and I will get back to you 😀😘

Stay tuned for part 4, which will have a lot more sketches, colour and texture!

Thank you for reading!

Love Tanya

xxx

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Design Diary: Design Development

Leave a Reply

