The Design Diary: Sampling

Now that I have my sample ideas brainstormed, it is time to start building the sample collection!

Sample Prep

IMG_8976

Before making the samples, I like to roughly sketch them up, so I know exactly what I am planning to sample.

IMG_8984

For the first batch of samples I like to use calico as it is an affordable fabric and is easy to work with, as I develop samples later, I will use different types of fabric.

Typically I like to keep the samples between an A4 size or A3.

Once I had all the samples complete, I laid them out and photographed them. Later I will print these images to keep in a sketch book and to do some sketches on.

Finished Samples

IMG_8998

The first sample I done was paneling with contrasting colours, as simple as it is I think it would work really well with the right colours and right fabric.

I definitely want to further this idea, so more sketches will be the next thing to do!

IMG_9004

This sample was supposed to be piping but I ended up turning it into pleats! When sampling this tends to happen, I will started sampling one idea and end up with something completely different. This isn’t such a bad thing because a lot of the time it can be the best sample!

In this case I’m not sure about this sample, simply because I have had similar styles in past collections and would like to try something new.

IMG_9008

Next on the list was pleats, so I started with a basic pleat going in one direction. It is a simple sample but it is just a starting point. I’m going to sketch up a few ideas for more pleats and I will develop them later.

IMG_9010

This is another pleat sample, it is actually the same sample as the previous but I folded the top pleat over by 1cm, this creates a double layer pleat. I actually find this very interesting and I definitely want to further this style, I would like to try making this again but in a heavier fabric.

IMG_9019

This sample is a straight forward one, it is simply some string going through fabric which makes it easy to gather the fabric. I don’t think I will further this idea as it is too straight forward and it isn’t inspiring me!

New sample sketches

IMG_9187

I’ve made a new list of samples to test out, I decided to continue testing contrasting samples and mixing them among the pleated samples to see what effect it creates.

I also noted I should research fabric printing and embroidery. I think the fabric printing could work well with the contrasting colours.

Embroidery and beading seemed very popular back then, so I decided I will research some techniques that may work well among my work.

Stand Work

After photographing the samples I moved on to pinning them on a mini mannequin, this gives me a better idea of what the samples would look like on a much larger scale. Again I photographed every which way I pinned the samples, and I will print these later. Here are a few on my favorites.

IMG_9037

IMG_9039

In the next section you will see how I work with the printed images of the samples, and how I begin my first round of garment design sketches.

Although this part of the design process can be a bit boring at times, I do hope you will stick around to see the more fun side of the development 😀

If you have any sample ideas, drop me a comment I would love to hear your opinions 😀😘

Love Tanya

xxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

